What’s stripey, farts in bed, and likes wine and roses?

No it’s not an alcoholic zebra on Valentines Day.

It’s….. Missus Tribble!  Missus Tribble hosts..no, is Supreme Intergalactic Empress of – a blog called Wine and Roses from Outer Space. As far as I’m concerned, she’s what women should be. She’s a Role Model.  She writes about True Stuff.  What it’s like to have whiskers.  How it feels to have epilepsy and autism and still be a sexy beast.   Rex the world’s Oldest Dog.  I just like her attitude.  She is what she is, much like Jehovah, and she’s good with it.  Not bullet-proof – who is – but good.

Anyway, the reason we are celebrating Empress Tribble today is that last year she gave me the Blog of the Year Award for 2012.   It has taken me a while to accept it properly. That is evil. But…I’m sincerely sorry, extremely grateful and please put away that ray gun (actually, Missus Tribble is a gentle and forgiving dominatrix)

Hmm, so who shall I award, in their turn?

Well, Trailer Trash Deluxe.  Who I originally thought was a girl because I thought only mini-skirted blonde women with dark roots were trailer trash – not that anyone actually deserves that epithet. But now I know he’s a man – occasionally poetic, often grumpy (in a witty, Orson Welles-ey way), deliciously rumpled (well, that’s just my imagination, sorry) and with an awful lot up with which to put!  So here is a little present, TTD – enjoy!

Seb at Tarnation and Eudemonia.  Seb has restored my faith in poets.  Any time in the last twenty years, you could’ve heard me whinge ‘there are NO good poets around nowadays. They all write crap like ‘His curdled hair like cornflakes in the briny wind; and all is blood red when the telephone books are weeping’.  Not Seb. He should be poet laureate of the US. I love his stuff.  I’m surprised he doesn’t have women banging down his doors at night for a dose of that oh-so-manly-and-experienced but-weary richness. Maybe he does.

Holly at Hollyanne Gets Poetic (she really does get it, if anyone does).  I probably gave Holly an award before. If Seb is a sex-fiend with a voice of silver (kind of Orpheus on steroids) Holly is a goddess of poesy.  You know those little things that happen, like when you invite a guy home and he turns out to have smelly armpits..or when your mother says something mean about your waistline – Holly takes that sort of stuff and turns it into Handel’s Messiah.  She really is that good.  No, better.

Whiteladyinthehood.  She writes like Bill Bryson, only fitter (probably) and of a lot more use to humanity.  Some people are curdlingly nice – you just wish they’d swear or reveal a secret love of eating their own nose-pick.  Whitelady isn’t like that, she’s incredibly sweet and yet – you could eat a bowlful for dinner and still want her for dessert.  One of her most endearing qualities is the way she sees an annoying brat I mean kid, or an in-your-face angry git-lady, adds a dollop of humour (including the good kind), some what-the-hell-live-and-let-live, some ok-let’s-see-what-it’s-like-to-walk-in-your-shoes-ok-i-want-mine-back-now – and voila!  A happy little bastard or a bestest-work-friend!

Sally at Deliberately Delicious.  Sally treats romance the way it ought to be treated. Young girls should be directed to her site before they consider their first date (ie, at around six).  She’s a self-respecting, self-confident, likeable and lovely plus-40 (age, not size) – and she uses her MIND to organise her love life.  What!  Her mind? Are you out of your…oh ok.  Not only that but she’s awfully nice to the also-rans.  If you’ve ever wondered how to write a Dear John letter that sends him chortling to bed, try Sally.  Actually, Sally has wrought a real change in my approach to romance. After 35 years, I too have decided to be confident, selective and rational.  It can be done.  Sally’s done it.

WordPlay.  I bet Chris from Word Play is on the CIA hitlist.  Hell, I bet he shows up on Interpol.  With a description something like this: Sex-crazed, uxorious, his skin diving is glorious..oh no sorry that’s the British national anthem.  He has a Past. Involving like, nude meadow-frolicking.  Deep sea rescue, fair maidens only.  Pissing off Important People.  Maybe even Pissing on Important People (I kinda hope so).  I like Chris.  Everybody should like Chris.  Only they should tell him that there’s only so much scrolling a devotee can do before having to visit the physio.  Visit him and see.

Babedarla of Oh I Do Blather On Don’t I.  Babedarla is my friend. Even though I’ve never met her.  But one day I will, cause she sounds like just my swig of whisky.  The thing is, Babedarla is honest, and hopeful, and enthusiastic.  She knows how to whoop it up all night and how to carry off a faerie queane outfit with mediaeval swagger.  She has warmth and integrity.  Life is difficult at times – hard work and talent get stymied by what I think of as ‘second-and-a-half-world issues’ (and yet, who wouldn’t want to live in California).  Sometimes I think our Aussie pollies go on fact finding tours to the US to see how to conduct a really GOOD screwing over.  Anyway when Darla marries a sexy and reliable millionaire, nobody will be more pleased than me (except her, I guess).

And the award?  Here it is.  Rules abound below.  Enjoy!

Blog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg

Here are the ‘rules’ for this award (I copied these straight from the Empress):

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them.

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect!

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different!

When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star!

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs, and even if they have already been given the award by someone else, then you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

For more information check the FAQ on The Thought Palette.

About turnipsforbreakfast

Rose has two blogs, www.butimbeautiful.wordpress.com, and www.turnipsforbreakfast.wordpress.com. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Rewards for Rose, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to What’s stripey, farts in bed, and likes wine and roses?

  1. Oh, how I love thee Rose! I laughed my way through this so hard that my husband now wants to have me committed! No, what am I saying? He always wants to have me committed!

    Okay, the ray gun is down. I’ve decided to tickle you a bit with the Sonic instead 😉

    • that’s alright with me if it’s ok with him!

      ________________________________

      • Oh believe me; he’d *love* to have me committed if it meant no more Doctor Who fangirl squee… but my squee is infectious and I have already passed it on to any other potential Companions 😉

    • actually I meant the sonic, not the commitment. He can’t have you committed, unless there’s internet in the padded cell – that would deprive your fans of their favourite morning read! I haven’t got into Dr Who, though Ms M has watched every single episode ever including the ones with cardboard & playdough monsters. Just one more thing to save up for my old age!

      • Haha, he made the mistake of actually buying me a Sonic one Christmas – so now I sit here wearing a fez, cuddling an Adipose and waving the sonic around during the theme tune while the poor husband does the facepalm 😀

  2. Congratulations. Wonderful award.

  3. idiotprufs says:

    Blog of the year. It’s a good thing the Mayans were wrong and the world didn’t end on December 21st.

  4. I can think of no-one more deserving, Rose. Congratulations.

  5. Carrie Rubin says:

    Nice way to showcase these other blogs. That’s what indeed makes you beautiful!!

    • These are bloggers that I really, really like. Not that I don’t really really like others too, like yours, but I know that for instance you, Carrie, don’t accept awards (and I have a feeling Seb doesn’t either, but there you go).

      ________________________________

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        Well, I do accept them, but it takes me forever to get to them. But I’ll be really honest and admit that it does NOT break my heart when I don’t get one. I’ve often said that after an apocalypse, the only things left alive will be cockroaches and blog awards. 😉

  6. funny! What would you rather have crawling about under your post-apocalyptic bed?

  7. Robin Sjögren says:

    NIce blog!!! I realy like it!! I am bloging to!! but min is not so big get! You can see it hhere http://robingoesamerican.wordpress.com/

  8. koolnews says:

    Congrats beautiful soul, I laughed, I cried, I like the plot in the post 🙂

    • You did! thanks!

      ________________________________

      • Melissa Cryder says:

        Just testing to see if i can leave a comment. Congratulations on being the best blog of 2012. I’ll be back to read. I have “other” important reading to do! Very exciting! All this!!! xx

      • You’re always following me and unfollowing me, Mel! I never notice the unfollows but I always notice the re-follows!! x

        ________________________________

      • iamnotshe says:

        I know … isn’t that weird? I try to clear up my email box because you get loads of comments: THEN, i just get too lazy to type in your address to find out “what’s up”! I do that to lots of people. I could just sign up to RSS, right? But I am here to stay. I had myself subscribed to loads of blogs and it got CRAZY! xx

      • yeah, I had that problem. Now I don’t beat myself up for not getting to everyone.

        ________________________________

  9. Melissa Cryder says:

    YES!

  10. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Congratulations – you really are GREAT – Beautiful! and thanks for the mention…I laughed my ass off reading it – I did – I loved it! You always make me feel good – thank you very much!

  11. whiteladyinthehood says:

    Oh, and I really like Seb, too!

    • I think we all do. I think we all secretly fantasise about sitting in a dark candlelit restaurant with Seb while he recites dark, lustful poetry to us.

      ________________________________

  12. Rose, thank you so much! I am delighted to have been nominated by you for this award, but even more, I’m humbled (and a little concerned) that you might be taking my dating advice to heart… 🙂

    I read with interest your description of Trailer Trash Deluxe, as we actually have a Canadian show called “Trailer Park Boys.” Perhaps not our finest cultural export, but I’ll share a link anyway. It as a huge cult following.

Leave a Reply

