Yes!

Over forty? You could DIE any minute now!

Yeah, a bit dramatic, I grant you. But I’ve just been reading Bill Bryson’s The Road to Little Dribbling, and apart from laughing a lot at his depictions of idiotic Americans on holiday and sour-faced English shop-keepers, I notice he refers to a lot of people who drop off the twig between about 40 and 55. Friends, acquaintances, random were-famous people, that kind of thing.

Course, you can die ANY time. I could’ve died when I was 19, strangled by some Italian psycho as I hitch-hiked around Europe with my pack and innocence. I could’ve died on an Australian highway, executing one of my notorious kamikaze driving moves in a (too frequent) moment of impulsive idiocy. I could’ve died of…god, lots of things!

But that would have been a bit of a fluke. From now on, death won’t be a fluke, it’ll be ‘rotten luck about Rose, but them’s the breaks’. It’ll be an inevitable – but not foreseeable – result of some part of me going rusty or losing a nut or wearing out its brake pads – like a stroke, or an aneurism, or galloping osteoporosis.

And it could happen AT ANY TIME!

So, what’s the plan?

Like the guy in ‘Yes Man’, we can choose between Totally Up for It and Just Say No.  I’ve become acutely conscious of this choice. Sometimes, I say No.

NO, I don’t want to go sky diving. I’ll take the aneurism. Physical danger is NOT fun for me – I leave that to people with the other gene.

NO, I don’t want to spend time learning to meditate. It’s boring. Bill Bryson makes me laugh, meditating makes me yawn.

NO, I don’t want to go to work any more. That is, I don’t want to, but right now I have to. But believe me I’m working on it. The last time I enjoyed having a boss was..let me see…in 1991. I am seriously over it.

On the other hand,

YES, I do want to watch a bit of mindless TV. I’ve spent most of my life going ‘Who’s Carrie?’ and ‘You’ve got to be kidding – cooking shows suck big time!’ at social occasions. Now it’s my time to be in the know. My Kitchen Rules. It’s even inspired me to try to make Crème Brulee, one day.

YES, I do want to dance in the lounge room with my superbly coordinated and expressive partner. I’ve waited my whole life to find someone who can match me in Weird Home Dancing, now I’ve found him, I’m using him. Up.

YES, I do want to throw my entire life away and move to some rural hideaway, despite the fact that I hate gardening, loathe farmers and have never spent more than the odd holiday in ‘the country’. But just because I’m not 19 any more doesn’t mean I don’t like taking stupid risks.

And lastly, YES, I do want to come and find my favourite blog friends like Darla and Mel and Trailer Trash and buy them a drink one day soon, on my way to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon. It is SO going to happen. Before I have a stroke.

So what’s your number one Yes? Your absolute NO Frigging Way?

 

About turnipsforbreakfast

Rose has two blogs, www.butimbeautiful.wordpress.com, and www.turnipsforbreakfast.wordpress.com. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Yes!

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Okay so this is the deal:
    “NO, I don’t want to go to work any more. That is, I don’t want to, but right now I have to. But believe me I’m working on it. The last time I enjoyed having a boss was..let me see…in 1991. I am seriously over it.”
    You are me. Before I quit my job and moved to:
    “YES, I do want to throw my entire life away and move to some rural hideaway, despite the fact that I hate gardening, loathe farmers and have never spent more than the odd holiday in ‘the country’. But just because I’m not 19 any more doesn’t mean I don’t like taking stupid risks.”
    You just perfectly defined me.
    You rock!

  2. We both rock! So tell me, how did it work out for you? Just cause I want to throw my life away doesn’t mean I don’t want to look over the cliff and see what happened to it!

  3. I also hitchhiked around Europe, sleeping under hedges and living on carrots and milk but somehow I survived to embrace a life of caution and middle age. Gentle exercise and semi-skimmed milk hold back a call from the undertaker, I hope, but then you never know …. !

    • You had carrots?? Luxury! As for the undertaker, I think he or she likes to pay a surprise visit from time to time..but I’m ready and waiting with the rolling pin behind the door!

  4. babedarla says:

    Yay! You’re gonna come see me! If I don’t see you first…no, wait, I mean that literally! A friend near Brisbane just bought a house and needs help moving; unfortunately the timings not quite right, boo hiss, what a great trip that would’ve been! Guess I’ll just have to show you San Francisco,and Yosemite, and the Pacific Northwest!

    • I would so like to do that. We’re looking at buying a rural idyll right now, near the coast – if we do and it’s nice, you can come and stay! If it’s not nice, then I will have to come and stay with YOU! No just kidding..near you.

  5. babedarla says:

    P.s. Oh, and the times I shoulda, woulda, coulda died. And DIDN’T! Here’s to living to a ripe old age!

  6. Well I’m no rebel so European hitchhiking is off my menu but I’d love love love to ride a motorcycle through Santa Fe NM, Moab UT, and fly to Italy. That’s my yes.
    My No would be no longer being a stay home mama. I’ve done it for 13 years and I’m ready to feel like a take charge human again!
    I love this post. It’s a perfect Saturday read 🙂

  7. No way am I moving to a small town. I like restaurants too much.

    More restaurants and wine and travel. Yes way! 🙂

  8. Sigh. My Number ONE is reading all 3,000 to the last page. I don’t care about much else except writing. Still live intrudes. I have no time for these intrusions.
    Sounds you’ve lived an exciting live, but I betcha there’s more excitin’ waiting for ya. 😀 😀 🙂

  9. Old age–I’m not impressed with it. Sometimes the worst part is the math. As in, most people don’t live past 100, many don’t go past 90, a lot drop off the twig by 80, on and on, and my age is closer to 80, 90, or 100 than to 18.
    I totally agree with you on the “not wanting to go to work any more.” Work is overrated, especially working for other people.
    Never heard of “drop off the twig” before; had to look that up. I read Bryson’s “A Walk in the Woods” a while back; I liked it but I wasn’t nuts about it. I’d read more of his though, especially about the UK.
    I read this post the other day, and I really liked it and still do. It just takes me awhile to “get up to the level” where I feel like writing or commenting sometimes. Thank you much for the “shout-out.” Is that a valid expression in Oz? It’s a better expression than “referencing someone in a favorable way,” I guess. Have you heard of “throwing someone under the bus?” I’m sure it’s been around longer, but I’ve only really heard it since I started my latest job about 9 years ago. I guess with the ‘Net, we’re all exposed to each other’s idioms.
    Very little would please me more than having you stop by, Rose. I rarely go much farther than the Black Hills or Colorado, so, if I’m not here in the exciting flatlands when you visit the U.S., we could have drinks there and I’d be on vacation (or “holiday”) also.
    ‘Course, I haven’t been to Vegas or the Grand Canyon for about 30 years.
    No skydiving. The learning process sounds a bit creepy.
    Yes–early retirement, a book written, a book deal, some dancing of my own with a weird home dancer of my own, a place by a mountain stream with a dog, lots of books, and my daughter living nearby.

    • We have the same ideas about a nice retirement, Trailer. Is throwing someone under the bus, a bad thing to do? I haven’t heard of it. Shout out – yep, we use that one. You know what? Stuff commenting. If you like it, read it. If you want to say something, say it. If you don’t, don’t. It’s all good.

Leave a Reply

