Reviews! Oh YES!!!!

I think I’m about to have an online orgasm…

What?  Why?

Because several people who are NOT my friends or relatives have reviewed my book Deeper – and here is what they said.

You’ve read the story, but you haven’t read it like this.

I was hooked from the first paragraph. The narrator’s voice is compelling, and she tells her story with a poetic simplicity. Melur is a Mer, an aquatic mammal who dreams of somehow escaping her pod and their way of life. Her quest takes her to the dry land and into the arms of a human man, where she learns that getting everything that you think you want can come with a price that is too high to be endured.

Yes, it is a retelling of Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Little Mermaid”, but Thomson’s Melur is a unique character, at once romantic and savage. Her struggles to understand the human world and their strange creations, her desire for something more than life in the sea can offer, and above all her fierce, naive love for the human that she rescued from drowning blend into a voice that will haunt the reader.

The story is told in the first person, addressed to her human lover. This gives it an intimacy that draws the reader into her world. It is a powerful story, and I’ll admit that I cried at the end.

Highly recommended.

and

I’ll admit that I haven’t read any books about mermaids before. They haven’t ever been very interesting to me. I think Deeper might have changed that.

Within the first few pages of the book, I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy Thomson’s writing. There wasn’t anything in particular that made me feel this way, but I did. However, the feeling quickly passed and I enjoyed her writing throughout the book.

The story was well done. There were no boring parts or parts that felt unneeded. While I enjoyed it all, I absolutely loved the ending. It wasn’t what I was expecting and that made it so much better.

I don’t want to give anything away, so I will stop here. I do recommend Deeper. It was so much better than I originally expected.

Quite a lot of people have BOUGHT my book – which is wonderful, thankyou SO much, I love you all deeply, passionately and truly.  But many of you have not yet reviewed it.  Whether that’s because you don’t want to hurt my feelings (something I’m all too familiar with as a reviewer myself) or because you forgot – well, I don’t know.  But if you can, please do, because if there aren’t many reviews, people will think Deeper can’t be a very good book.  And it IS one, I just know it!   Ok, a bit of authorly overstatement here.

The thing is with Amazon, reviews are what takes a book from sunk-without-so-much-as-a-ripple to you-mean-to-say-you-haven’t-read-THAT-book-yet!!!  status.  So, if you’ve read it, you know…please???

37 comments

  1. This is wonderful, Rose. I would love to read your book too and I would review it. the trouble is I am in the middle of information overload and haven’t had time to crack a book and there are sooooooooo many waiting…waiting…for the stroke of a kind hand.

    Congratulations! I will try.

    • No that’s ok Tess. I feel bad soliciting reviews, I’m not a natural marketer. It was really to say, if you HAVE read it, don’t forget the review bit! Not so much, go read it it now. Mind you, I’m reading a fantastic indie book at the moment, it’s up there with Michael Crichton. I’ll review it sometime soon, so if you have a reading space, try it – this guy really has talent with a capital T.

      ________________________________

    • Misha, I’ve just been reading your book and I promise this isn’t tit for tat, but it is just, wow. I’m engrossed. It’s wonderful writing. I wish I could say something more original right now than that, but I think you have a genuinely remarkable talent – and also that it should be made into a screenplay. It would be such a good film (and I can see sequels, too).

      ________________________________

  2. These kind of reviews are the best reinforcement for what you’re doing. I owe you a review on Amazon. I’d just like to read it again, now that it’s published, so I get the review right. It’s in the queue.

  3. Great for you! (I’m trying to give you a review, but it won’t take my password – I’ll get it reset)

    • Yes, well, this is the equivalent of sitting outside the shops with a cardboard sign 🙂 But I’m not the sort of pleading author who’ll follow you up the street banging her tin (or maybe…)! I’ll still love you if you don’t do a review, Whitelady.

      ________________________________

  4. Congratulations on your book, great reviews & success. If you provide me with a link to your blog post of this work, I will reblog it to my blog. Somehow I missed that you wrote or released for publication, a book. I’d love to share it with my followers.

    • I know you did and I’m very very grateful! Anyway she WAS called Ylve before I decided that mer living in northern Australian climes shouldn’t have swedish names.

      ________________________________

      • You’re the boss! You get to do whatever you creative mind decides to do. Although, I’m VERY MUCH looking forward to Australia. Don and I are planning lots of travel lately. So I’m not sure it will be within the next year. ANYWAY. BRAVA FOR ROSE!!!! Author ad person extraordinaire. Say hello to your lovely kids! Hope they’re being reasonable. Wait, never mind … they’re teenagers. Never mind. 🙂

      • Maybe I’ll get to the US before you get to Oz. You never know. But when you DO come to Australia, tell me and I’ll fill you in on the must-dos – which of COURSE includes a visit to yours truly. (well actually, where I live is pretty boring – but we can visit together somewhere more exciting than home maybe).

        ________________________________

      • I know you’re planning a visit here, and I may have a new apartment by the time you get here. Things are a’changin with my job. We’re moving our office in about a week or three. More on that. 21 years working for this guy. I’ve kept my mouth shut about a raise for 5 years because my hours have changed … but today I’m presenting ideas for some help with transportation from the boss and maybe a work-day from home. I could be getting an additional job. One of them would have to be something I like!

        See you soon!

      • Good luck with the changes and the boss! I hope you do get a job you like, but don’t work too hard. I wish you could work where I work, it’s just great. But it doesn’t pay!

        ________________________________

  5. These are great reviews! Would it be weird for me to post a review since I’m in the acknowledgements? Cuz I will! Also reposting your blog post about the books so’s I can share it on my FB wall, etc. !

    • thank you Darla! Anywhere is wonderful! And if you can leave me a review on Amazon and Goodreads, I’ll love you for ever (I will anyway though).

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

