hey i stooole ur computer

Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response…

According to Wikipedia is a “neologism for a claimed biological phenomenon, characterized as a distinct, pleasurable tingling sensation often felt in the head, scalp or peripheral regions of the body in response to various visual, auditory, olfactory and cognitive stimuli.”

Mr F, when he’s relaxing at the computer or doing his university homework or whatever, listens to stuff through his headphones. Not unusual.  Except that what he’s listening to, turns out to be the sound of people having their hair cut (snip, snip, ssscrip, flfff, snip).

Sometimes he watches a favourite video.  Say, someone assembling a model aeroplane.  Sticking together each tiny strut.  Applying the wood glue.  Attaching the tail and wings.  Painting the wing tips.  Very intense, very focused.

He always did like having his hair stroked and his toes massaged.  As it happens, my dad liked the same thing (well, the hair bit).  Every now and again he’d say ‘Comb my hair will you’ and hand me this yellowed old plastic comb.  And I’d sit behind him and pull the comb through thin grey curls, more pink scalp than hair really, and he’d sit there with a silly grin on his face, enjoying every second of it.

Funny.

Oh and I did steal ur computer, Mr F.  It used to be my computer, till you came to stay for a while, and now I have to get up at 8 o’clock just to sneak a post in.  But that’s ok, we luvs yer.

19 comments

    • yeah maybe! I’d never heard of it before F mentioned it to me, as something he experiences. The idea that you’d sit there for hours enjoying snipping sounds, or rubbing sounds, or watching people perform detailed tasks on youtube, strikes me as very weird. But..he enjoys it, that’s the main thing.

      ________________________________

    • I liked playing hairdresser! But I never rubbed a carpet the wrong way, let alone the right way.

  1. I’m glad Mr. F let you have a go on the computer! I’m feeling my inner MER. I have done a sea-color abstract, a tale (separate paintings) and prepared the canvas and have a sketch of our heroine. Is that correct? She’s going to be grand!

    • It’s a game of musical computers in my house. Son comes, takes my computer, daughter goes, I take her computer, daughter comes back, I steal my own computer back again while son’s asleep…

      ________________________________

    • I don’t know. But there are whole libraries of these sounds on the internet, for people who like that kind of thing. Not just snipping, but rubbing, whispering, etc etc..

      ________________________________

  2. This video was pretty sensual – you can’t deny it. I mean, I’m not even a carpet muncher, and I “felt things”…

  3. Ooh, I enjoyed that, Rose.
    I watched the vid for a couple of minutes and found it quite mesmerizing. It wasn’t unlike meditation….
    Hmmm, Mr F. may have something there. Though I doubt I could watch it for hours, Rose. My washing-up would be calling me all sorts of rude words.. 😉

Leave a Reply

