The Karmic Challenge – Week 10

The Aspiration

To be reincarnated as….THIS!

The Reality

Volunteering, up to a point, is the EASIEST karmic thing you can do.  Why?

Because it takes months from when you put your hand up to when anybody actually wants you to DO anything.  Recommended for procrastinators everywhere.

This weekend I went to a training course for would-be Barnardos Kids Friends and Kids Tutors.  There were about six other goodhearted people there – the fact that there weren’t more, I put down to the probability that a lot of people are EVEN WORSE with forms than I am, and simply looked at the paperwork and snail mailing involved and thought, NUP.

Not that I’m complaining, not at all. Anyway, Barnardos put on a great lunch and we sat around and talked about why we wanted to befriend kids, and what kinds of issues we might strike.  One of the first questions they ask is, what would you do if the parent/s of your Kid are totally NOT down with your core values.  Like for instance –

  • You turn up to collect Kid, and mum’s sunk in a depressed lethargy, the house is full of garbage and the kid’s shivering because it doesn’t have warm clothes for winter.
  • You sit there trying to help Kid with homework, and Kid says he’s hungry because he’s had nothing to eat all day.  Meanwhile Dad’s in the next room with the newly bought plasma tv.
  • The yard is full of caged underfed dogs and cats producing non-stop litters of rickety kittens.

Of course there are procedures, mostly involving ‘Tell us and we’ll handle it’.  Which is good.  That’s the kind of procedure I like.

But at the end of the day, you’re still being asked to suspend judgement in a situation where even the saintliest of us is bound to want to make one.

Which leads me to this aphorism (move over Buddha!) – it’s ok to judge. Everything that lives, judges.  Only sometimes, it’s best to shut up about it.

As the Buddha saith,

Before judging others, pause for a moment and ask – how perfect am I?

Or as Rose saith, pause for a moment and say ‘How perfect I am!’.

In slightly less significant Karma News, today I actually mailed a misdirected letter back to its rightful owner!!!  Some might sneer – but to me, this is, you know, a huge step in the right direction.  Because I happen to have chronic Disorganisation Disorder and also a severe case of Slackarse Slob Syndrome, and doing anything involving moving bits of paper is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT for me!

About turnipsforbreakfast

Rose has two blogs, www.butimbeautiful.wordpress.com, and www.turnipsforbreakfast.wordpress.com. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in The Karmic Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Karmic Challenge – Week 10

  1. El Guapo says:

    Why do you want to be reincarnated as a big purpl- Oh, the cat. Ok.
    Once deliverd a package that was misdelivered to me. I was amazed at how gratified th recipient was.
    And now that I think about, karma points too!

  2. LMAO! Slackarse Slob Syndrome. Awesome…

  3. crubin says:

    I would think you have much good Karma coming your way after all of this. And I love the Buddha saying about judgment. And also your response. 🙂

  4. i was thinking that its a painting, then i read the comments. she looks a cat with quite a personality 🙂

    • She’s a shy, reserved cat, very gentle (never scratched or bitten anybody), a bit playful when she’s outside in the sun, talks to me at night with little cut-off squeaks. She’s my treasure!

  5. Grey looks like she is ready to kill :P. Nice pic

    • yeah she does, but cats can’t help it, their eyes just look catty (and the camera didn’t help). She was just sleepy and a bit, why are you pointing that thing at me at this time in the morning! As a catlover I’m sure you know what I mean.

  6. babedarla says:

    well, it’s good to know that finally decided that what I have is now a disorder AND a syndrome!

  7. Kinked Slinky says:

    I think I was diagnosed with CDD too, hmmm that file from my shrink is around here somewhere…….

  8. Speaking for myself, I can say I’m always willing to support, just most people who ask for it don’t really want “support.” They’d rather hear reinforcement that what they’re doing is correct. 🙂

    • Yeah, nobody wants to hear that their life is a mess and that they’re a ratshit parent. Even if they are. So if you want to be allowed into their lives sufficiently to be able to ‘support’ them, eg by taking their kids out for a good time, you have to be prepared to put a lid on those perfectly justifiable judgements.

  9. I think we all judge people, and those who think they don’t tend to quietly pity others who don’t rise to their standards. Which is a form of judgement, as well. I try to do my judging quietly.

    • Yes, I do mine quietly too – but I sure do it. I’m VERY judgemental. But a lot of people think I’m ‘accepting’ because I don’t tend to let the cat out of the bag.

  10. Pingback: Good Enough Parenting « butimbeautiful

Leave a Reply

