The Karma Challenge – Week 9

The aspiration

Do anything. Just don’t LOSE any more points!

The reality

Why aren’t there any mad Dog Women? I mean, what have mad Cat Women got that mad Dog Women haven’t!

It’s alright though, SUPER Mad Dog Woman is here!  I’ve just applied to foster a dog and if they let me, that’ll mean there are FOUR stinky farting puppies living in my house. One will have been given a reprieve from Pound Death Row, though, so I guess (preparing to hold nose through haze of dog farts) that’ll be worth it.

Here’s the deal.  Dogs (and cats) in the dog shelter usually get a fixed time to find a new owner (or their old one). If they don’t, they get the needle. Dog fosterers take on dogs that don’t sell and give them a home until they do. Following the lead of well-known dog lover Cruella De Vil, I’m opening my home to LOTS of lost puppies! (especially ones with black and white spots)

___________________________________________________________

Actually it’s been a pretty doggy weekend.  On Sunday I committed an act of the vilest child abuse, which consisted of taking Ms M (WITHOUT asking her first) on the Million Paws Walk.

HER: You mean we have to go to the PARK?

ME: Yes. But there’ll be lots of cute dogs.

HER: But the internet’s expecting me! It’ll be upset!

ME: It’s for a good cause!  There’ll be fairy cakes!

HER: Oh.  How LONG do we have to go for then?

Since Ms M doesn’t get out of bed for less than 10,000 (wakeup calls, not dollars), we were too late for the official WALK beside the lake, BUT we were in time to wander round looking at people with all kinds of dogs, from walking sausages to cows with collars (and also to view a Dog Fancy Dress Competition – not sure just what I think of this poodle though…).

Also, I bought not one but two bumper stickers from MAWA (Medical Advances Without Animals), and also made a donation.

_____________________________________________________

SO, Rose (says my imaginary interviewer, let’s call her Cynical Cyndy), I’m wondering whether life’s actually got better since you started being good?

Well, Cyndi, first of all, thank you SO much for asking!  Life’s got so much better since I started being unemployed! (that is, ‘between contracts’) that it’s hard to tell whether being good’s made any difference.

Thought not.

But hang on – I AM pretty happy!  I’ve made new blog friends like Blatherbabe, Iamnotshe, Normal Deviations, Sharmishtha Basu, Chris Sheridan, El Guapo and Devil in the Flesh.  I’ve met a real-life Sir Galahad (Sir Simon actually), without the Grail obsession or the need to fight people with pointy sticks.  I’ve realised that dating is more fun when you play it for laughs.  Then of course there’s my fabulously witty daughter and my 17 year old son who STILL wraps his arm around me when we go to the movies! (you can think that’s weird if you like, but it’s not, he’s just sweetly affectionate).  And for once I’m not feeling guilty.  How good’s that?

By three things the wise person may be known. What three? He sees a shortcoming as it is. When he sees it, he tries to correct it. And when another acknowledges a shortcoming, the wise one forgives it as he should.
Anguttara Nikaya I – 103

About turnipsforbreakfast

Rose has two blogs, www.butimbeautiful.wordpress.com, and www.turnipsforbreakfast.wordpress.com. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Karma Challenge – Week 9

  1. iamnotshe says:

    Arf! I am free? never cheap 🙂

    Well, i am in the lap of luxury here among your friends! Oh, and this time i’m not talking about farting, smelly dogs! Nyet! … i am among blog friends. I’m giddy.

    I am awarding you 10,000 wake up call / karma points for taking Mrs. M to the park, and for adopting dogs, making donations … and showing me the cute dog walk! I think i could swing a dog-walking job … :-). Much nicer bosses.

    SCORE!!! POINTS!!!! You’ll have to check with Capt. on your tally, yea?

    • Yeah I’d like one of those – dog walking job I mean! But everyone here’s so damn healthy, I don’t think they pay you to do that kind of thing! Thanks Mel – can you be Buddha? xo

      • iamnotshe says:

        I would if i could. I’m taking my I CHING book with me to Alaska. I’ll let you know if i roll big pennies .. will THAT make me Buddha? x

      • I’ll facebook my doggies for you – it’ll just take me a little while to get round to it, I’m a terrible ‘do it sometime’ person!

  2. NormalDeviations says:

    Now I’m curious by what three things a foolish person is known…

  3. Kinked Slinky says:

    fostering is such a great idea, but what happens if you [more likely “me’] fall in love – can you keep it ?

  4. sally says:

    You get Karma Points just for making us laugh! My favourite line: “The Internet is expecting me.” Sounds just like my 15 year old son.

    Wait a minute. It sounds a bit like me too…

  5. I am happy that you are happy, and thanks for thinking of me as a new blog friend, my likewise new blog friend! 🙂

    • Well, you comment on my stuff, and I comment on your stuff, so often I feel I know something about you now, which is the most that can be said of most friends! Plus your remarks are so very lovely that I feel very friendly towards you!

  6. ourdailydress says:

    Oh man, whenever I take my dogs to the million paws walk they go out of their way to embarrass me, mostly by peeing of officials and dragging me in front of traffic. It’s like they know!

  7. thanks for counting me amongst your friends. 🙂
    your son is really very special, warm and loving. God bless his loving heart.

  8. El Guapo says:

    So how many dogs exactly might you end up with?
    And taking care of puppies definitely has to earn you some quality karma points.
    Waking teenagers up early? Not sure how that scores…

    And no idea how it happened, but very glad i came across your blog!

    • Likewise, El Guapo! I guess I’d only end up with 1 extra at a time, as I live in a townhouse with a small yard (although there’s a huge park outside my gate). I think you need a permit to have more than 4, plus it would be a bit mean and squashy for the puppies. Dunno if you get karma for waking teenagers up – but its damn hard work!

  9. koolnews says:

    Go for your dreams. Great blog to read.

  10. Capt. Savage says:

    Reblogged this on Captsavage's Blog and commented:
    Well another week and I have missed posting my week in Karma, so thanks Rose for this. Somehow I have always been busy doing something else. When I get back home I’ll post something, currently I am in Melbourne on Army duties, but loved the post Rose 🙂

  11. Capt. Savage says:

    Reblogged this on Captsavage's Blog and commented:
    Well another week and I have missed posting my week in Karma, so thanks Rose for this. Somehow I have always been busy doing something else. When I get back home I’ll post something, currently I am in Melbourne on Army duties, but loved the post Rose 🙂

  12. Capt. Savage says:

    Reblogged this on Captsavage's Blog and commented:
    Well another week and I have missed posting my week in Karma, so thanks Rose for this. Somehow I have always been busy doing something else. When I get back home I’ll post something, currently I am in Melbourne on Army duties, but loved the post Rose 🙂

  13. The Hook says:

    What can I say? Woof-tastic!

Leave a Reply

