Pina!

This is so WEIRDLY funny! And the actors/dancers are Aussie! Thank you Text history

texthistory

I finally managed to watch the DVD by Wim Wenders about Pina Bausch and her Wuppertal Dance Company. It was a rare combination of wonderful subject matter shot by a master filmmaker who showed them at their brilliant best.

For those who have not seen them, I saw them at the St Kilda Palais about 30  years ago, fresh from their appearance at the Adelaide Festival. It was a huge old Victorian barn cum theatre, and the 4 nights were sold out. In fact I knew a builder who went to all 4 nights, and loved every minute of the 3 hours show.

I have no idea why I liked them then or now. They were spellbinding. The stage was covered in turf, with a sprinkler and a large stuffed stag. The group of maybe 15 or 20 promenaded through the auditorium. They handed out cups of tea. They performed…

View original post 419 more words

7 comments

  1. What the hell was that about? But I suppose it was from the 1980’s, when we exported such lovely things as Paul Hogan and ‘Crocodile Dundee’, Alan Bond won the America’s Cup and Men at Work released ‘Living in the land down under’. Even Elton John was sucked into the Australian dream when he married his close friend and sound engineer, Renate Blauel on Valentine’s Day 1984 – the marriage lasted three years.
    I am so glad that much of the 1980’s never escaped into the 1990’s…

    CS

      • Ok, yes I used to enjoy listening to Blondie (and even Men at Work)… I even enjoyed Maybe the 1980’s had some uses, ok I admit it, I may have even enjoyed the Bee Gee’s and John Travolta in ‘Staying Alive’, or have I just admitted too much about myself?

        🙂

Leave a Reply

