What movie are you living in?

For a while now I’ve had this theory that everyone is part of a plot. No I’m not paranoid.

By plot, I mean story, novel, blockbuster movie.  For instance, someone I know seems to be in the ‘hardworking mum struggles uphill against the current of life, failing again and again, until…’ movie (think Helen Hunt in As Good as it Gets, Demi Moore in Strip Tease), while another hapless friend could be the star of Forrest Gump.  Parts of my life have been Jane Eyre (without the happy ending or miserable beginning, just the middle bit where Rochester calls out ‘Jane! Jane!) and other parts The Getting of Wisdom (dumb kid tries to be popular and falls flat on her face, thus learning…not to).

So I was thinking, suppose you CHOOSE your plot rather than be just accept the cosmic director’s casting choices. For a writer, that should be particularly easy – just write your own. So if your life is beginning to look like Les Miserables, start turning the plot towards something more cheerful, like, say, The Three Musketeers (for which you’ll need two good friends), or, at least make people laugh (Analyse That?).

The hard part is trying to identify, firstly, WHICH part you’re playing (for instance, are you acting Julia in Pretty Woman or Bette Davis in Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?) and secondly, which PART of the story you’re currently playing (for instance, in some stories you may be in the middle, having a good time, not knowing that by the end everybody is going to be slaughtered by psychos, whereas in others – say, Great Expectations – things may look very bad to start with but you’re going to end up rich and in possession of a toothsome Victorian girlfriend.

______________________________________________________________________

If only those people in films and books could hear us when we say ‘don’t jump off that bridge – your rich long lost uncle is about to turn up and take you off to his sunny mansion in California’ or conversely ‘don’t go and have a picnic in that deserted graveyard, I know it looks fun now but you won’t think so when zombies are eating your tonsils.’ Or, if only we could hear THEM.

“I’ve BEEN in that plot, and I’m telling you now, it don’t end pretty!”

29 comments

  1. I never thought of it that way, but I can see some parallels that aptly fit. I’ll kick it off by saying I’ve lived a lot of the plot of Chasing Amy combined with… I dunno; I can’t figure it out right now. I’ll follow up after I sleep on it, if that’s cool.

      • This was actually on my mind a TON over the last day and I’m still kind of at a loss of what other movie to combine to get a somewhat accurate picture. Right now, I’ll add Dances With Wolves as part of the conglomerate movies that describe my life.

        If you can make sense of how those two movies fit, you deserve an award. 😉

  2. Sometimes I feel like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day, repeatedly… and sometimes I feel like Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct. It’s complicated… I’m complicated. I have a complex – when I’d rather live in a duplex and rent out the other side for extra money.

    Whoa! Stop the presses right now! What I meant to say in my first sentence, is that “sometimes I feel like *having* Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct.” and that’s a BIG difference!
    The rest of what I wrote is fine. I am fine, and how are you?

    Cool idea and fun post! 😀

    • yeah I was wondering about that, Sharon. That’s very funny by the way about the duplex/complex! I’ll have to remember that one. From the sound of your blog you already do have SS from Basic Instinct, anyway!

  3. I love this post. So empowering and thought provoking. I can see where I tried to live Wuthering Heights without realizing it. *head desk* if only I’d been able to see it then. 🙂

  4. Well Rose, I kind of like this as a concept, a way to look at things through maybe sometimes Rose coloured glasses (ha ha?). But Yep I’ve seen glimpses of my life in some movies. My family used to live near Parkes where ‘The Dish’ was shot, and I’ve always been interested in astronomy and space. I really could imagine myself playing cricket on the radio telescope there. Plus I love the works of Jane Austen, and have tried to be the romantic lead in my own versions (with little success I might add). Sense and Sensibility and Persuasion as well as obviously seeing myself as a shorter version of Mr Darcy… Well as least I see myself as… In my current Military mode, perhaps I could be a latter day Braveheart due to my Scottish roots (plus Irish, German, English etc).

    My daughter thinks I would make a passable Mr Bean, but I’m trying to discourage those thoughts in her (cause he’s too close to my reality I think). One of my more serious movie fantasies is in relation to my twins, I sometimes wish that just as Robin Williams did in Awakenings, there was some mysterious combination of drugs that would help my sons break through their barriers and be able to communicate with me.

    But mostly I think I’m living again in another Mel Gibson movie, The Conspiracy Theory, and that everyone is against me and I should wrap my head in tinfoil to protect myself from the aliens… But also because I sometimes fancy Julia Roberts, even when she played Erin Brockovich (for which she had to have falsies fitted, yep I keep abreast of these things).

    Rose, thanks again for inspiring me to troll through my movie fantasies, and there is a lot more where that lot came from.

    Capt. Savage
    (Braveheart, I wonder what he wore under his kilt, I know what I did as I’ve worn a Kilt and went to a private Presbyterian boys school and learnt to play the bagpipes amongst other things, and tossed my caber a few times)

    • I get that. You’re nowhere near mean enough to be Mr Darcy though I’m sorry. Haven’t seen Awakenings but yes, I wish there was something that could help children like yours too. It’s funny, I was thinking that we can’t communicate with most non-human animals directly yet we somehow manage to coexist easily and happily, and develop beautiful relationships (despite the fact that one side can’t talk to the other). So what I mean is, why is direct communication so essential between human animals, when it isn’t between human and other animals? Maybe one day there’ll be a fix – medicine moves in mysterious ways! I hope there will be.

  5. Reblogged this on Captsavage's Blog and commented:
    Well Rose, I kind of like this as a concept, a way to look at things through maybe sometimes Rose coloured glasses (ha ha?). But Yep I’ve seen glimpses of my life in some movies. My family used to live near Parkes where ‘The Dish’ was shot, and I’ve always been interested in astronomy and space. I really could imagine myself playing cricket on the radio telescope there. Plus I love the works of Jane Austen, and have tried to be the romantic lead in my own versions (with little success I might add). Sense and Sensibility and Persuasion as well as obviously seeing myself as a shorter version of Mr Darcy… Well as least I see myself as… In my current Military mode, perhaps I could be a latter day Braveheart due to my Scottish roots (plus Irish, German, English etc).

    My daughter thinks I would make a passable Mr Bean, but I’m trying to discourage those thoughts in her (cause he’s too close to my reality I think). One of my more serious movie fantasies is in relation to my twins, I sometimes wish that just as Robin Williams did in Awakenings, there was some mysterious combination of drugs that would help my sons break through their barriers and be able to communicate with me.

    But mostly I think I’m living again in another Mel Gibson movie, The Conspiracy Theory, and that everyone is against me and I should wrap my head in tinfoil to protect myself from the aliens… But also because I sometimes fancy Julia Roberts, even when she played Erin Brockovich (for which she had to have falsies fitted, yep I keep abreast of these things).

    Rose, thanks again for inspiring me to troll through my movie fantasies, and there is a lot more where that lot came from.

    Capt. Savage
    (Braveheart, I wonder what he wore under his kilt, I know what I did as I’ve worn a Kilt and went to a private Presbyterian boys school and learnt to play the bagpipes amongst other things, and tossed my caber a few times)

Leave a Reply

